Skip to content Skip to footer

Towards Inclusivity: The Arrival of the European Accessibility Act

The European Accessibility Act (EAA) stands as a landmark piece of legislation that aims to foster a more inclusive digital environment for all users, regardless of their abilities or disabilities.

The EU Accessibility Act, adopted in 2016, sets forth a comprehensive set of requirements for ensuring that digital products and services are accessible to individuals with disabilities. It covers a wide range of digital products, including websites, software, apps, and electronic documents, ensuring that they are compliant with the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) 2.1 Level AA.

Enforcement dates

The full enforcement of the EU Accessibility Act was delayed until June 28, 2025, in order to give businesses and organizations more time to prepare for the new requirements. However, certain provisions of the Act will start to come into force earlier. For example, some requirements for digital content will start to apply to new products and services from June 28, 2022.

Here is a summary of the enforcement dates for different aspects of the EU Accessibility Act:

  • New products and services: June 28, 2022
  • Existing products and services: June 28, 2025
  • Public sector services: June 28, 2023

You can find more information about the EU Accessibility Act on the website of the European Commission:

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipisicing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore et dolore magna aliqua. Ut enim ad minim veniam, quis nostrud exercitation ullamco laboris nisi ut aliquip ex ea commodo consequat. Duis aute irure dolor in reprehenderit. Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit.

Etiam vitae leo et diam pellentesque porta. Sed eleifend ultricies risus, vel rutrum erat commodo ut. Praesent finibus congue euismod. Nullam scelerisque massa vel augue placerat, a tempor sem egestas. Curabitur placerat finibus lacus.

Go to Top